Apartment Therapy


Apartment Therapy
Originally uploaded by ShotSnaps

One of our college friends is coming to visit tomorrow. Last week I started looking around our apartment with new eyes and decided to make a few changes. Our master bedroom particularly stuck out to me as in need of some apartment therapy.

I also received a nice set of makeup brushes for Christmas and they, along with Leah’s visit, inspired me to make some changes.

We have led a rather transitory life and as a result have purchased exactly one piece of furniture in the course of our entire 7.5 year marriage. Whenever I get into these little home improvement projects, in the back of my mind there is always the looming possibility that we will move again soon, which has taught me to work with what we have and buy as little as possible. So this is what I did:

Cleaned Out – So much of decorating projects seems to be centered around finding new homes for things that have somehow ended up beside your bed. My sewing supplies and my professional portfolio were removed to new homes.

Lights Up! – I purchased two inexpensive IKEA wall lamps I’ve had my eye on for a while and moved our bedside light sources off our bedside tables and onto the wall.

Vanity – I turned my old bedside table into a dressing table by buying an IKEA table mirror and a WalMart bamboo drawer organizer for my makeup (and new makeup brushes!). I also bought a tiny stool that fits under the table so I can sit down to “make myself pretty” as John calls it.

“Headboard” – Our mattress sits on a basic metal bed frame in all it’s Grad School Days glory. I am completely over this look. I started poking around the website Apartment Therapy looking for some ideas and came across a suggestion to hang an interesting piece of fabric behind the bed to give the illusion of a headboard. My “headboard” is from a $3 duvet cover I bought in the IKEA “As Is” section last fall and used to make an accent pillow for our bed. I still had the other half of the cover and tacked it to the wall after ironing it. I’m planning on sewing it and hanging it properly on a curtain rod eventually, but this was the best I could do this week.

I’m really pleased with how it all turned out. I get a big smile on my face every time I walk into our bedroom now.

What are some of your best decorating therapy tips and ideas? Pictures too!

2 Comments

Filed under how to..., it's so pretty!

2 responses to “Apartment Therapy

  1. nice! I love wall decals… which we just discovered. They’re great for the non-committal decorator, like me. We have a couples for our room and a big one for the girls’ room. We have fathead.com decals but I think that the ones from Whatisbilk.com are much cooler. I’m planning on getting a really big mural one for our new living room – cause I’m not painting another rental… well, not yet at least.
    I think your new room looks so cozy and I really like the duvet design, it’s pretty! BTW, we totally have a jr. high headboardless bed right now too… trying to decide if we want to keep it that way or put our headboard back on… I kinda like it without.

Leave a Reply

