CHICAGO MARATHON

I’ve had a lot of freelance work on my plate this week, which is why I’ve been so quiet on the blog-front. Michael graciously gave me one whole day of his two day fall break this week to sit in his office and type furiously. It’s amazing how productive you can be when you know you have exactly eight hours to write what ended up being a 3,200 words-after-editing cover article for a local college’s alumni magazine.

The rest of the week we similarly fast-paced. So when one of my sisters called me to see if there was any way I could come with them to Chicago this weekend while she and another of my sisters (I have four sisters) run the CHICAGO MARATHON to give them moral support and “hold their stuff,” it somehow seemed like the perfect Anything Can Happen Thursday decision. (That one’s for you Big Bang Theory viewers).

I did an interview Friday afternoon for another freelance article, then a few hours later hopped in the car with my sisters and transcribed most of that interview on the drive to my brother and sister-in-law’s house in Illinois (have I mentioned I have a lot of siblings?). Then this morning I spent another two hours writing furiously in the car and another hour editing in my sister’s childhood friend’s Chicago basement appartment JUST SO I COULD GET TO THIS MOMENT:

I have finished my work. I am holding a big hot cup of Irish Cream with a little coffee. I am on the verge of finishing a whole book in just under a 24 hour period. I am in Chicago with my fabulous sisters who are getting ready to RUN THE CHICAGO MARATHON tomorrow. And there is an awesome Thai place at the end of the street.

Dies happy.

Leave a comment

Filed under family matters, it's a sickness, life happens, stuff i read

Leave a Reply

