Pumpkin Oatmeal Cookies

If you could eat Fall, it would taste like these pumpkin oatmeal cookies. When my brother Tim was in nursery school, one of the mothers in his class brought these cookies for a Halloween Party. My mother found the recipe in the October 1983 issue of Family Circle, and they have been as much of a part of Fall as apple cider, leaf piles and jack-o’lanterns ever since. The year we lived in Denmark, I discovered that the Danes don’t have canned pumpkin in their grocery stores (this is what happens when you don’t have Thanksgiving or some kind of harvest holiday other than “Potato Week”). That fall my friend Nikki mailed three cans of pumpkin puree to me at ridiculous expense to herself. It was one of the most thoughtful and delicious gifts I’ve ever been given.

Pumpkin Oatmeal Cookies

4 c. flour
2 c. oatmeal
2 t. cinnamon
1/2 t. nutmeg
2 t. baking soda
1t. salt
1½ c. butter, softened
2 c. brown sugar
1 c. white sugar
1 egg
1 t. vanilla
1 (15 oz) can pumpkin
Can add:
– package of semi-sweet chocolate chips (my personal preference)
– box of raisins
– crushed pecans or walnuts

Heat oven to 350°. Combine first 5 ingredients and set aside. Cream butter, gradually add sugar until light and fluffy. Add egg and vanilla and mix well. Alternate adding pumpkin and flour mixture. Scoop ¼ cup of dough onto cookie sheet. Flatten each cookie before baking. Bake 20-25 minutes. After cookies cool, you can add white icing and put candy corn on cookies. The original recipe suggested making a jack-o’lantern face on the cookies with the candy corn.

To make these a little healthier, substitute flour with 3¾ cup whole wheat flour and ¼ cup flaxseed meal, and reduce white sugar to ½ cup. They almost taste better this way.

Yield: a whole crap ton of cookies. It’s easily six dozen cookies. If you have a Kitchen-Aid mixer, definitely whip it out for this recipe.

8 Comments

Filed under recipes

8 responses to “Pumpkin Oatmeal Cookies

  1. Potato Week?! Heaven! Where has Potato Week been all my life?

    I remember the pictures you posted of cookie baking with John in Copenhagen. Well worth the expense, I think!

    • Making cookies with my kids was one of those things I always pictured myself doing long before I even had kids, and this was the first recipe I baked with John. Thanks for making that possible, friend. :)

  2. WHY haven’t I ever made these!?

    I have a project for Friday night, possibly while I watch Mad Men.

  3. good idea to leave raisins out…they ruin everything! can’t wait to try them!

  4. brian

    just made the recipe, but due to only 1 1/2 cups of oats had to cut it to 3/4 and it still made a ton of cookies. the recipe is excellent. i like raisins, so next time i plan to add them and some chopped pecans.

Leave a Reply

